Boys and Girls Haven Records
Scope and Content
Nineteen compact discs containing containing oral history interviews conducted by Michael Diebold representing the experience of Boys Haven / Boys and Girls Haven residents, counsellors, directors, and board members; digitized records and papers of Boys and Girls Haven, consisting of clippings and memorabilia representing the life of Fr James C. Maloney, founder of Boys Haven; correspondence from the late 1940s about the founding and early years; highlights of board meetings; newsletters; annual reports; a ledger containing the roster of residents; a photo album; and related files. Also two pamphlets about the life of Fr Maloney and Boys Haven; and two autobiographical books written by a former resident.
- Creation: 1948-2016.
- Boys and Girls Haven (Organization)
Language of Materials
Father James C. Maloney founded Boys Haven as a home for boys in 1948, where he served until he retired in 1983. Today, as Boys and Girls Haven, the home also provides services for girls.
2 linear inches; 5.4 TB
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Oral histories conducted and donated by Michael Diebold; records scanned in the Notre Dame Archives, Spring and Summer 2016, by permission of Boys and Girls Haven.
- Boys and Girls Haven Records
- University of Notre Dame Archives
- Language of description
- Script of description
- Language of description note