Skip to main content

All-America Football Conference Games Statistical Summary Sheets

Identifier: MSSP 1000

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of game statistical summary sheets from the All-American Football Conference from 1946 to 1949. Each sheet records individual statistics for players from both teams, including rushing (times carried, yards gain, yards loss, net gain), passing (number of attempts, number of completions, interceptions, net gain, scoring passes), receiving (number caught, yards gained), interception returns (number, yards gained), punting (times kicked, yards kicked), punt returns (number returns, yards return), kickoff returns (number returns, yards return), scoring (touchdowns, PAT attempt, PAT made, field goals, points), and miscellaneous yardage.

The sheets also record total team statistics in all of the individual statistical categories. Additionally, the sheets contain other team stats, including first downs (rush, pass, penalty, total), penalties against (number, yards), own fumbles (number, lost), and time outs used.

The sheets also record game information, including principal plays, score by quarters, official attendance, weather, time of game, date of game, location of game, and the name of the official who authenticated the sheets.

Formats include official statistics reports and press releases.


  • Creation: 1946 - 1949


Conditions Governing Access

There are no access restrictions on this collection.

Conditions Governing Use

Copyright status for collection materials is unknown. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.) beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owners. Works not in the public domain cannot be commercially exploited without permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility for any use rests exclusively with the user.

Biographical / Historical

Founded in the mid-1940s as rival to the established National Football League (NFL), the All-America Football Conference (AAFC) played four seasons of professional football from 1946 through 1949. The league played its first games in 1946 with eight franchises: Buffalo Bisons, Brooklyn Dodgers, Miami Seahawks, New York Yankees, Chicago Rockets, Cleveland Browns, Los Angeles Dons, and San Francisco 49ers. In 1947, the Baltimore Colts replaced the Miami Seahawks, and the Buffalo franchise was renamed the Bills. In 1949, the league featured only seven teams after the Brooklyn and New York franchises merged. In December 1949, the AAFC and NFL merged with the Cleveland Browns, San Francisco 49ers, and Baltimore Colts joining the NFL. The other AAFC franchises disbanded. The Cleveland Browns won the AAFC championship in all four years of competition.


2 Cubic Feet (4 document boxes (legal size))

Language of Materials


December 2022
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the University of Notre Dame Rare Books & Special Collections Repository

102 Hesburgh Library
Notre Dame IN 46556