Skip to main content

I. Abbey Theatre, 1904-1971, 2015


Scope and Contents

The series consists of theatre programs created by the Abbey Theatre, Dublin, Ireland. Programs for first productions included within this series include: Sovereign Love, 1913; The Lord Mayor, 1914; Birthright, 1914; The Reapers, 1930; and Baintighearna an Ghorta by De Bhilmot, Séamus. Other notable productions include: The Playboy of the Western World by Synge, J.M.; The Shewing-up of Blanco Posnet by Shaw, George Bernard; and The Plough in the Stars by O'Casey, Sean. Materials include programs.


  • Creation: 1904-1971, 2015

Language of Materials


Language of Materials

Collection materials in English and Irish.

Conditions Governing Access

There are no access restrictions on this collection.

Biographical / Historical

The Abbey Theatre was founded by W.B. Yeats and Lady Gregory as a national theatre in 1904 in Dublin, Ireland.

Repository Details

Part of the University of Notre Dame Rare Books & Special Collections Repository

102 Hesburgh Library
Notre Dame IN 46556